Skip to content

Communications Awards

Sponsored by the AAPA Public Relations Committee, the annual Communications Awards, a category of the AAPA Lighthouse Awards Program, has recognized excellence in port communications since 1966.

The application period for AAPA-member ports will open in Spring 2024. Contact AAPA’s Workforce & Professional Development Associate Julie Barelas ( for any questions or for additional information.

There are a total of 14 entry classifications, ranging from advertisements to video presentations, and magazines to social media sites. See the full list of classification descriptions for additional information.

Award of Overall Communications Excellence is awarded to each of the three categories determined by a port’s annual public relations, advertising and marketing budget.

  • Category 1 - Ports have up to $300,000.
  • Category 2 - Ports have between $300,000 and $800,000.
  • Category 3 - Ports have more than $800,000.

Entries for the competition are judged by an independent panel of experienced communications professionals on situation analysis and research; identification of audience, goals, objectives, strategies and tactics; quality/clarity of content and style; skillful use of copy, photography, design, layout and graphics; and evaluation methods used to determine communication's success.

To assist applicants in assembling award-winning entries, all of the winning submissions into previous years competitions are linked below.

Click on the links below to view winning submissions from 2000 to present. (Note: the competition was not held in 2009)