Skip to content

News Release
FOR RELEASE - September 14, 2006
Contact: Aaron Ellis,

American Association of Port Authorities
Phone: (202) 792-4033

Seaports Association Installs Domaas as New Board Chair

Canada’s Fraser River Port Authority President To Lead AAPA

NEW ORLEANS (Sept. 14, 2006) –  The American Association of Port Authorities (AAPA)—the  alliance of public port authorities in the Western Hemisphere—at its membership meeting today as part of its 95th Annual Convention in New Orleans (see, formally installed Capt. Allen O. Domaas, PPM®, president and CEO of Fraser River Port Authority in New Westminster, British Columbia, as the new chair of the AAPA board of directors for its 2007 fiscal year.

“Captain Domaas is a highly experienced and respected port authority leader who will advance our association’s mission to connect port communities with the global marketplace,” said AAPA President Kurt Nagle.  “He was unanimously elected to be chairman of the board by port officials throughout the Western Hemisphere.  We look forward to his leadership in these challenging times.”

Capt. Domaas joined the patrol division of the Fraser River Port Authority’s predecessor organization, the Fraser River Harbour Commission, in 1973, moving up to become its property supervisor in 1979.  He was appointed assistant harbor master in 1987, and became director of operations in 1990 and vice president of operations in 1996.  A year later, he received his Professional Port Manager® designation from AAPA. When the Fraser River Harbour Commission was recreated as a port authority in 1999, Capt. Domaas was named vice president of operations.  He was appointed head of the port authority in February 2002.

As the port authority’s president and CEO, Capt. Domaas is responsible for the day-to-day operation of the Fraser River Port, which handles 39 million tons of cargo annually and supports 16,100 direct local jobs.

In terms of public port affiliations, Capt. Domaas is a member of the AAPA Executive Committee, chair of the association’s Canadian delegation, and is second vice-chair of the Association of Canadian Port Authorities. He is also the Fraser River Port Authority’s representative on the Greater Vancouver Gateway Council, the British Columbia Marine Coalition on Education and the Chamber of Shipping of British Columbia Navigation and Pilotage Committee; a member of the Western Transportation Advisory Council’s executive committee; and chair of the Council’s human resources committee.

Capt. Domaas will also serve as AAPA’s Canadian delegation chair for 2006-2007.  Other Canadian delegation officers include Karen Oldfield, Halifax (Nova Scotia) Port Authority’s president and CEO as chair-elect; and W.E. Mills, president and CEO of Nanaimo (British Columbia) Port Authority as vice-chair.

Named as the association’s U.S. delegation chair was Warren McCrimmon, Toledo-Lucas County (Ohio) Port Authority’s seaport director, while Jerry Bridges, Port of Oakland’s executive director, was named chair-elect of the U.S. delegation.  Ken O’Hollaren, Port of Longview (Wash.), is the U.S. delegation’s new vice-chair.

For the Caribbean delegation, Nassau Port Authority Controller Capt. Anthony J. Allens received the chairmanship nod for 2006-2007, while Paul Hurlston, port director of Port Authority of the Cayman Islands, was named the Caribbean delegation’s chair-elect.  Paul Kirby, port authority manager for St. Vincent & the Grenadines Port Authority, was named the Caribbean delegation’s vice-chair.

AAPA named Agustin Díaz, Curaçao Ports Authority’s managing director, as the Latin American delegation’s 2006-2007 chair, and José Luis Iberri, API Guaymas’ (Mexico) director general as chair-elect.  Armando Duarte, chairman of the Sociedad Portuaria de Santa Marta (Colombia), was installed as the delegation’s 2006-2007 vice-chair.

# # #