Skip to content

News Release
FOR RELEASE - March 21, 2005
Contact: Aaron Ellis,

American Association of Port Authorities
Phone: (202) 792-4033

AAPA Names Transportation Secretary Mineta as 2005 'Port Person of the Year'

Mineta to Serve As Keynote Speaker for Port Association’s Washington People Luncheon Event on April 5

ALEXANDRIA, Va. (March 21, 2005) — The American Association of Port Authorities (AAPA), the organization representing public ports throughout the Western Hemisphere, has selected U.S. Secretary of Transportation Norman Y. Mineta as its Port Person of the Year. This is AAPA’s most prestigious annual award, honoring an individual whose outstanding work or service has made a significant contribution to public port authorities and/or maritime commerce.

Secretary Mineta will receive the award and serve as the Washington People Luncheon keynote speaker on Tuesday, April 5, for AAPA’s annual Spring Conference, at the Park Hyatt Hotel, 1201 24th Street, N.W., in Washington, D.C. During his speech, the transportation secretary is expected to discuss transportation policies and initiatives that will affect the maritime industry’s future.

In nominating Secretary Mineta for the award, the Port Authority of New York & New Jersey stated that he "has brought freight transportation to the forefront of the Administration and has been a strong advocate for the port industry." The NY/NJ port authority declared in its nomination that under Secretary Mineta’s leadership, "the operating principle is that the (U.S. Department of Transportation) is more than a collection of modal agencies. The policy from the top has examined major transportation needs and developed policy solutions not from a single mode perspective, but from a system perspective."

Kurt Nagle, AAPA president and chief executive officer, said the ports association and its members are pleased to honor Secretary Mineta with this year’s distinguished Port Person award. He added, "The port industry appreciates Secretary Mineta’s vision and leadership on freight mobility and maritime transportation system issues."

Each year, AAPA presents its Port Person of the Year award to an individual who has made significant contributions to the port industry. Previous award recipients include Senator Patty Murray (D-WA), 2004; Congressman Jim Oberstar (D-MN), 2003; U.S. Trade Representative Robert B. Zoellick, 2002; U.S. Senator John Breaux (D-LA), 2001; and U.S. Senator Kay Bailey Hutchison (R-TX), 2000.

AAPA anticipates that more than 200 legislators, governmental staff members and port industry leaders will take part in the Spring Conference, which runs April 4-5.

# # #