Skip to content

News Release
FOR RELEASE - October 24, 2005
Contact: Aaron Ellis,

American Association of Port Authorities
Phone: (202) 792-4033

Four to Receive Public Port Association's Prestigious PPM® Certification at Oct. 27 Luncheon in Tampa

Professional Port Manager® Awards Part of AAPA’S Annual Convention Agenda

TAMPA, Fla. (Oct. 24, 2005) – Four public seaport managers representing the ports of Galveston (Texas), New York and New Jersey, Manatee (Fla.), and Tacoma (Wash.), will each receive the American Association of Port Authorities’ (AAPA) Professional Port Manager® (PPM®) certification at a luncheon on Thursday in the Tampa Marriott Waterside hotel as part of the port association’s 2005 annual convention activities (see The certification program, initiated by AAPA in 1994, encourages, rewards and advances professional standards in public port management.

Receiving their PPM® certification are:

  • Steven Cernak, port director for the Port of Galveston. As part of his PPM® program, Cernak wrote a thesis titled, “The Use of Innovative Financing Techniques in the Redevelopment of Port Facilities: The Port of Galveston’s Recent Experience As A Case Study.”

  • William Ellis, general manager of capital programs for the Port Authority of New York and New Jersey. In partial fulfillment of his PPM® certification, Ellis wrote a thesis titled, “Case Study In Port Planning: The Development and Implementation of the Port Inland Distribution Network (PIDN).”

  • Steven Tyndal, senior director of trade development and special projects for the Port of Manatee, in Palmetto, Fla. Tyndal’s PPM® thesis is titled, “The Role of Public Relations in Port Expansion.”

  • J. Michael Zachary, director of port planning and logistics for the Port of Tacoma. To complete his PPM® certification, Zachary wrote, “The Role of a Port Authority in Container Supply Chain Security.”

“Recipients of AAPA’s PPM® certification should be justly proud of the significant achievement they have made in their port management careers,” explained association president Kurt Nagle.  He said that each participant is required to already hold a management-level position at a public port or other maritime-related entity, complete a prescribed curriculum of seminars, and participate in one or more of AAPA’s technical committees.

Participants must also write and get approval on a paper that contributes substantially to the body of knowledge concerning public port management. 

Currently, 95 individuals are enrolled in AAPA’s PPM® program, which is administered by the association’s Curriculum Committee. The four being honored at AAPA’s annual convention in Tampa bring to 56 the number of port managers who have been certified.  Bernard S. Groseclose, president and CEO of the South Carolina State Ports Authority and AAPA’s Curriculum Committee chair (and incoming board chairman), will present this year’s PPM® awards.

# # #