Skip to content

News Release
FOR RELEASE - March 29, 2022
Contact: Stephanie Casella,

American Association of Port Authorities
Phone: (202) 792-4033

Port Person of the Year Awards and AAPA President's Award for Legislative Leadership Recipients Announced

Washington, D.C. – This year’s Port Person of the Year awards are going to Senator Mark Warner of Virginia and Senator Bill Cassidy of Louisiana, who were two of the lead negotiators of the Ports and Waterways section of the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law – formerly known as the Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act (IIJA).

The pair have proven tireless in their bipartisan advocacy for seaports and maritime.

AAPA's Port Person of the Year award, which was first given in 1994, is awarded in recognition of an individual or individuals whose outstanding work or service has made a significant contribution to public port authorities and/or maritime commerce in the Western Hemisphere. Past awardees include government officials, trade or transportation industry leaders, and other individuals who have made significant contributions to advance the priorities of the public port community.

Senator Warner has given the following remarks on his receipt of Port Person of the Year, "I am honored to receive the recognition of 'Port Person of the Year' by the AAPA. I’ve worked hard in the Senate to secure investments for our ports, which serve as crucial economic engines in the Commonwealth and across the country and provide good-paying jobs for the American people. I look forward to continuing to find ways to invest in our ports and our economy."

Senator Cassidy has responded to his nomination to Port Person of the Year with the following statement, "Because I am from Louisiana, I am particularly honored to receive the American Association of Port Authorities' Port Person of the Year award... Louisiana has five of our country's top 20 ports by tonnage, and they bring goods to market up and down the Mississippi River, and around the world. The nature of our import and export economy depends on our ports. It is critical that we maintain and develop our ports to meet the demands of our economy."

AAPA President’s Award for Legislative Leadership is a brand-new award created for individuals who have advocated for the seaports and maritime industries, but especially in relation to particular, long-term beneficial projects.

This year's AAPA President's Award for Legislative Leadership is going to Senator Patty Murray of Washington.

Senator Murray was selected for the AAPA President's Award for Legislative Leadership thanks to her work over ten years to reform the Harbor Maintenance Trust Fund (HMTF), including full utilization and equitable distribution.

The AAPA President's Award for Legislative Leadership will be presented to Senator Murray by Lisa Lefeber, CEO of the Port of Everett. Senator Murray has responded to her nomination for the honorable award with the following statement: "I’ve lived in Washington state my entire life, and I know exactly how important our port and waterway infrastructure is to our state’s economy. So, it’s been incredibly important to me that projects at our ports receive the federal support they need to help goods and cargo flow freely and create jobs in Washington state,” said Senator Murray. “That’s why I am proud of what we’ve been able to accomplish together to help Washington state’s ports maintain a competitive edge in an increasingly global maritime economy. Our ports can trust that I’ll keep working hard to deliver more federal dollars to strengthen our local maritime economies, create good-paying jobs, and help speed up the flow of goods and trade coming in and out of our ports."

AAPA is proud to celebrate the most dedicated seaports and maritime champions in America. The Port Person of the Year Awards and AAPA President's Award for Legislative Leadership awards will be distributed on Wednesday, March 30, 2022, at AAPA's Legislative Summit: "Now We Build!"

The 2022 Port Person of the Year awards are sponsored by Direct ChassisLink, Inc. (DCLI). AAPA member, DCLI is the largest provider of marine and domestic container chassis to the U.S. intermodal industry. DCLI is the experienced intermodal partner of motor carriers, beneficial cargo owners, ocean carriers, and domestic shippers across North America.

About AAPA

The American Association of Port Authorities (AAPA) is the unified voice of port leaders and maritime industry partners across the Western Hemisphere who serve a vital role in job-creation, international competitiveness and economic prosperity. Connecting small business owners, retailers and manufacturers to the global marketplace, AAPA member organizations sustain 31 million jobs and 26 percent of the U.S. economy, and advocate for national policies and infrastructure investments in support of a resilient global supply chain and a positive impact on the way people live, work, travel and engage in commerce. Visit or on Twitter @PortsUnited.

# # #