Skip to content

News Release
FOR RELEASE - September 5, 2007
Contact: Aaron Ellis,

American Association of Port Authorities
Phone: (202) 792-4033

33 Seaports Selected for 92 Honors in AAPA’s Annual Awards Program

The American Association of Port Authorities, the leading organization representing public ports in the Western Hemisphere, has selected 33 seaports to be recognized for exemplary projects, programs and initiatives at its annual awards program. The awards, for achievements in environmental improvement, facilities engineering, information technology and communications, will be presented to winning ports at an Oct. 3 luncheon in conjunction with AAPA's 96th Annual Convention in Norfolk, Va., which runs Sept. 30-Oct. 4.

AAPA Chairman of the Board Capt. Allen O. Domaas, PPM® (who is also president/CEO of the Fraser River Port Authority in New Westminster, British Columbia, Canada) and AAPA President Kurt Nagle will present engraved plaques or Honorable Mention certificates to representatives of:

  • the ports of Long Beach and Los Angeles (Calif.), co-winners of this year's Comprehensive Environmental Management competition, for their combined "San Pedro Bay Ports Clean Air Action Plan" submission;
  • the Tampa (Fla.) Port Authority, winner of this year's Environmental Enhancement competition, for its "Fantasy Island - A Cooperative Restoration, Conservation and Education Project" submission;
  • the Port of Santa Marta, Columbia (Sociedad Portuaria de Santa Marta S.A.), receiving an Honorable Mention in the Environmental Enhancement competition for its "Direct Coal Loading at Santa Marta Marine Terminal"submission;
  • the Port of Everett (Wash.), winner of this year's Environmental Mitigation competition, for its "Beach Enhancement for Mt. Baker Terminal" submission;
  • the Port of Portland (Ore.), winner of this year's Environmental Stakeholder Awareness, Education and Involvement competition, for its "Environmental Outreach and Communication Program" submission;
  • the Port of New Orleans, winner of the 5th Annual Facilities Engineering Awards contest for its "Erato Street Cruise Terminal Complex" submission;
  • the Port Authority of New York and New Jersey, receiving an Honorable Mention in the Facilities Engineering contest for its "Staten Island Railroad: Chemical Coast Line Connector" submission;  
  • the Georgia Ports Authority, winner of the 2007 Information Technology Award, in the category of Port Operations and Management Systems, for its "COAT: A CBP Zero-Tolerance Solution" submission;
  • the Halifax Port Authority, winner of the 2007 Information Technology Award, in the Intermodal Freight Transportation Improvements category, for its "Container Tracking System - Dwell Time and Transit Time Management at the Port of Halifax" submission; and,
  • the Port of Tacoma (Wash.), winner of the 2007 Dan Maynard Communications Award for Overall Excellence, which was selected for winning four communications program Awards of Excellence - in the categories of videos, annual reports, periodicals and special events - and three communications program Awards of Merit - in the categories of periodicals, promotional literature and miscellaneous. Instead of an engraved plaque, the Dan Maynard Communications Award is a large etched glass globe with the winning port's name engraved at the base.

In addition to the above honors, 31 ports will receive recognition for a total of 82 winning entries in AAPA's 41st annual Communications Awards Program.  Seventeen engraved plaques will be presented to representatives of 14 ports that won Awards of Excellence, while 21 ports will receive a total of 42 Awards of Merit for their winning Communications Program submissions.  An additional 23 Honorable Mention certificates will be handed out to 15 ports that submitted entries in this year's AAPA's Communications Awards Program.

For a complete list of winners, click on AAPA's 2007 Annual Awards Program.

# # #