Skip to content

2011 AAPA Annual Convention

September 11, 2011
Seattle, Washington

This year's Annual Convention celebrates the association's 100th anniversary. The 4-day long Annual Convention is AAPA's largest membership meeting of the year. It includes technical and policy committee meetings, business sessions and social networking opportunities for port professionals and others in the marine transportation industry.

Opening Ceremonies


  • Kurt J. Nagle, President and CEO, AAPA
  • Armand J. "Pete" Reixach, Executive Port Director, Port Freeport, AAPA Chairman of the Board
  • Bill Bryant, President, Port of Seattle
  • Tay Yoshitani, CEO, Port of Seattle
  • Sam Reed, Secretary of State, Washington
  • Mike McGinn, Mayor, Seattle

Delegation Responders

  • United States: Robert J. Scafidel, Executive Director, St. Bernard Port, Harbor & Terminal District
  • Canada: Don Krusel, President & CEO, Prince Rupert Port Authority
  • Latin America: Dr. Jorge S. Otharán, Consorcio de Gestión, Puerto de Bahía Blanca, Argentina
  • Caribbean: Victor O'Neal, Managing Director, British Virgin Islands Ports Authority

What Does the Future Hold?


  • Brad Smith, General Counsel and Senior Vice President, Legal and Corporate Affairs, Microsoft Corporation

Luncheon Program: Keynote Address


The Critical Need for Infrastructure Investment to Enable Seaports to Deliver Prosperity


  • Armand J. "Pete" Reixach, Executive Port Director, Port Freeport, AAPA Chairman of the Board


  • Richard Wynne, Director, Environment & Aviation Policy, Boeing
  • John Horsley, Executive Director, American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO)
  • Michael P. Fallon, Programs Director, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Southwest Division

The Greening of the Cargo Supply Chain


  • Stephanie Jones Stebbins, Director, Seaport Environmental and Planning Programs, Port of Seattle


  • Earl Agron, Vice President, Security and Environment, APL
  • John M. Bauer, Vice President, Global Transporation, Starbucks Coffee Company
  • Mark Knudsen, Vice President of Business Development, SSA Marine
  • Dennis McLerran, Regional Administrator, Region 10, EPA

Seaports Delivering Prosperity for 100 Years


  • Kurt J. Nagle, President & CEO, American Association of Port Authorities


  • David F. Bellefontaine, PPM, AAPA Chairman 1992-1993
  • Agustín M. Díaz, AAPA Chairman 2002-2003
  • Capt. Allen O. Domaas, PPM, AAPA Chairman 2006-2007
  • Gary L. Failor, PPM, AAPA Chairman 1988-1989
  • Ross Gaudreault, AAPA Chairman 2000-2001
  • H. Thomas Kornegay, P.E., PPM, AAPA Chairman 1998-1999
  • John J. Terpstra, AAPA Chairman 1990-1991

Innovative Approaches to Port Challenges


  • Kristin Decas, Port Director & Harbor Development Commission Executive Director, Port of New Bedford

Communication Award

  • Heather Morris, Director of Communications & Community Relations, Port of Long Beach

Facilities Engineering Award

Information Technology Award

Environmental Award

Chairman's Address


  • Armand J. "Pete" Reixach, Executive Port Director, Port Freeport, AAPA Chairman of the Board

Luncheon Program

Welcome and Introduction

  • Tay Yoshitani, Chief Executive Officer, Port of Seattle

Keynote Address on Global Supply Chain Importance and Challenges

  • Matthew K. Rose, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, BNSF Railway Company