Skip to content

Information Technology Awards

The AAPA Information Technology Awards highlight port technology accomplishments in the areas of “Port Operations and Management Systems” and “Improvements in Intermodal Freight Transportation.”

The application period for AAPA-member ports will open in Spring 2024. 

PowerPoint Slide Requirement

All entrants MUST download the 2023 PowerPoint slide template, insert the specified entry information and graphics into the slide, including the organization’s logo (on the bottom left side of the slide), and add as an attachment to each electronic entry submission to be eligible. One PowerPoint slide per entry is required.

Award Categories 

1.  Port Operations and Management Systems

Including, but not limited to, new innovations in technology to enhance data flow for port operations; technologies to improve the safety and productivity of cargo and container handling; technological innovations for the tracking and maintenance of chassis, containers, cranes, and other yard handling equipment; and methods to improve traffic flow and improve truck turnaround time entering and leaving a terminal.

2.  Improvements in Intermodal Freight Transportation

Including, but not limited to, technologies to improve vessel transportation safety within a harbor or port, including approaches to the port; the application of intelligent transportation system (ITS) technologies to enhance intermodal freight movement; and technologies to enable the effective tracking and tracing of cargo from the port to the consignee.

Past Award Winners

For more information on the Information Technology Awards, contact Liz Mancini, Sr. Manager of Member Experience, at