Skip to content

Facilities Engineering Awards

The goal of the program is to recognize excellence, innovation and performance by port engineering professionals.  Past Winners, Application Guidelines and Award Criteria for the Facilities Engineering awards program are detailed below.  

APPLICATION GUIDELINES (2019 preliminary submission deadline: July 1, 2019)

The guidelines for submitting an application for an AAPA Facilities Engineering Award are:

  • A Cover Letter from the individual consisting of a summary of the project.
  • The Application should be double-spaced and should not exceed 15 pages.  Detailed reports, analyses, and photographs are not required, although, if available, may be included as an appendix.  Application must be provided in PDF electronic format.

The winning entries will be displayed at the AAPA Annual Convention.  Displays should not be sent until after winners have been notified.

Additionally, any electronic media may be used for display and/or presentations, but provision of such is the sole responsibility of the winning entrant.

For more information about the annual AAPA Facilities Engineering Award, please contact Ed O'Connell, Director of Membership Services, at 703-706-4709 or

The application should be organized into the following sections:

Cover Page:

  • Title of Project
  • Name of Applicant
  • Contact and Job Title
  • Date Submitted
  • Listing of Design Team Members with Contact Information

Table of Contents

Project Description

Introduction – Project Highlights

Goals and Objectives/Business Problem


  • Background
  • Objectives and Methodology
  • Hardware/software used
  • Project Cost
  • Performance Measures
  • How the project fulfills the Award Criteria


Applications will be accepted only for those projects (or beneficial increments) or programs, which have been designed, planned, and approved by all applicable regulatory agencies, and constructed or implemented.  The application should indicate the current status of the project.


Engineering innovation, means of contracting, speed of construction, budget success, or other measures will be the primary considerations used for judging.

Criteria can include, but are not limited to, different areas of engineering (and or architecture).  For example:

  1. Design and/or construction of marine structures.
  2. Marine waterway and landside development.
  3. General economic development (warehouses, shops, yards, office parks, terminal complexes, etc).
  4. Engineering planning studies or master plans.

All Corporate members are eligible for recognition, including members from the U.S., Canada, Caribbean and Latin America.