Skip to content

Cruise Award

The Cruise Award is made in recognition of an individual(s) or organization whose outstanding work or service has had a positive impact on the relationship between the cruise port and the cruise industry in the Western Hemisphere.  Nominees may be recognized for positive contributions with international impact or for benefits to ports within a country or region.

Nominees may include government officials, trade or transportation industry leaders, port authority or cruise line leaders, or any other individual or entity who has made a significant contribution to advance the relationship between cruise ports and the cruise industry.  Nominations must be made by an official (voting) Cruise Committee Member, and a member may not nominate him/herself. The award(s) may be shared by more than one individual or entity in recognition of joint efforts.  

In order to be considered for AAPA’s Cruise Award, the nomination must include at least one paragraph on each of the following criteria:

  • Experience and expertise:  Describe nominee’s background and expertise as it relates to this award.  Describe any awards or other recognition received by the individual.

  • Contributions to the cruise industry/port relationship:  Describe the kinds of activities undertaken by the nominee that have substantially contributed to the relationship between the cruise port and the cruise industry.

  • How ports would benefit:  Describe how the port/cruise industry would benefit from this nominee’s selection for the award.

For more information on the Cruise Award, contact Jen Wilk, Director of Corporate Communications and Marketing, at (703) 254-7098 or e-mail:

The Cruise Award is presented every other year.

2019 Cruise Award Winner

Steven M. Cernak, Chief Executive and Port Director, Port Everglades

Past Winners

  • 2017 - Mike Mierzwa, Port Director - Port of Galveston, and Adam Goldstein, President and Chief Operating Officer - Royal Caribbean Cruises, Ltd.
  • 2015 - J. Robert Jumonville, Sr., Director, Cruise and Tourism - Port of New Orleans and René Trépaniér, Executive Director, Cruise the Saint Lawrence - Rimouski, Quebec, Canada
  • 2013 - Karl L. Holz, President - Disney Cruise Line & New Vacation Operations
  • 2011 - Terry Thornton, Senior Vice President Itineraries & Revenue Planning - Carnival, and
    Betty MacMillan, Manager, Trade Development - Saint John Port Authority
  • 2009 - Tom Dow, Vice President of Public Affairs - Carnival Corporation & PLC
  • 2008 - Ross Gaudreault, President & CEO - Québec Port Authority
  • 2006 - Ted Arison, Former Chairman - Carnival Cruise Lines