Skip to content

The AAPA Lighthouse Awards

AAPA is excited to rollout our newly improved awards program! Check out the great new updates, and refreshed design the program entails.

AAPA's Lighthouse Awards

AAPA’s Annual Awards are the port industry’s foremost recognition program designed to highlight premier best practices throughout the Western Hemisphere. Just as AAPA has refreshed its brand to reflect a new era, the association’s awards have been reimagined as well. Renamed the AAPA Lighthouse Awards, our goal is to recognize the best port programs and projects that stand as a beacon of excellence across the industry. Now incorporated into one prestigious awards program, the Lighthouse Awards will acknowledge excellence in four disciplines:

Submission Timeline

AAPA will begin accepting entries for all categories on May 1, 2021 and will close the application process on June 1, 2021 at midnight EDT. Judges will evaluate nominations and present the Lighthouse Awards of Excellence at the AAPA Annual Convention, September 26-29 in Austin, TX. In the meantime, we encourage you to review the steps below and begin preparing your submissions! 

Application Portals 

Each category will have it's own specific submission portal. Be sure to submit your entry to the correct category, or reach out for assistance if necessary. Follow the links below to visit the submission portals: 

Steps To Apply 

  1. Review application guidelines of your specific category at the above submission portal link to become familiar with nomination criteria such as eligibility, project timeframe, required and supplementary materials.  
  2. Speak with your port leadership and determine which organizational accomplishments you will highlight in your awards applications. 
  3. Gather all the information needed for your application. Reports, data, pictures, graphs, and other visuals help tell the story of your project to competition judges. Remember to complete the 2021 PowerPoint slide template.
  4. Submit full application to your respective category, and pay the application fee online to your specific category portal in the application. Reminder, the deadline is June 1, 2021 at midnight EDT 

Contact AAPA

For additional information or any inquiries regarding the Lighthouse Awards, please reach out to the category specific team member at AAPA. See information below: 

  • Communications - Jen Wilk, Public Relations Director
  • Environmental Improvement - Meredith Martino, Vice President of Membership and Sponsorship
  • Facilities Engineering - Paula Gonzalez, Senior Manager of Membership Growth 
  • Information Technology - Direna Cousins, Manager of Member Experience and Engagement