Skip to content

Port Industry Recognition Programs

AAPA's annual and biennial awards programs recognizes the best practices in the port industry across five disciplines: Communications, Environmental Improvement, Information Technology, Facilities Engineering, and Cruise. There are also three AAPA awards given to individuals as appropriate: ImPORTant Service Award, Distinguished Service Award and Port Person of the Year Award. Individuals and ports receiving awards are recognized during AAPA's Annual Convention in the fall at a special luncheon. Port Person of the Year Award recipient is recognized at AAPA's Annual Legislative Summit in the spring.

The Lighthouse Awards

AAPA's awards have been reimagined and refreshed along with our brand. Renamed the AAPA Lighthouse Awards, our goal is to recognize the best port programs and projects that stand as a beacon of excellence across the industry. Now incorporated into one prestigious awards program, the Lighthouse Awards will acknowledge excellence in four disciplines (Communications, Environmental Improvement, Facilities Engineering and Information Technology).

Application Portals 

The application period for the 2022 Lighthouse Awards program is April 25 to June 10, 2022, midnight EDT. To submit projects, follow the below links beginning April 25:

Previous Awards Information

To view a PowerPoint presentation created for the AAPA 2021 Annual Convention in Austin, TX, that showcases all of the 2021 Lighthouse Awards program winners in each of the categories click here. 

Follow the links below to reach the criteria and past winners for each awards program:

Cruise Award

AAPA's Cruise Award is made in recognition of an individual(s) or organization whose outstanding work or service has had a positive impact on the relationship between the cruise port and the cruise industry in the Western Hemisphere. The Cruise Award is presented every other year. For more information and to view past Cruise Award recipients, visit the Cruise Award webpage.